Refreshed 6.01beta2 posted

Locked
Beberg
Pande Group Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 9:05 pm
Location: Stanford

Refreshed 6.01beta2 posted

Post by Beberg » Mon Feb 04, 2008 8:03 am

I've updated the download, should show a Feb 3 build date now.

Should work on 10.3 now.

susato
Site Moderator
Posts: 944
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Team MacOSX
Contact:

Re: Refreshed 6.01beta2 posted

Post by susato » Tue Feb 05, 2008 5:34 am

THANK YOU Adam! That was a really fast turnaround. Three cheers from your fellow Mac users!!!

I have confirmed that it works on my G4 running 10.3.9.

Beberg
Pande Group Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 9:05 pm
Location: Stanford

Re: Refreshed 6.01beta2 posted

Post by Beberg » Tue Feb 05, 2008 5:14 pm

10.2 - w/Devel tools only
10.3 OK
10.4 OK
10.5 OK

G3 ?
G4 OK
G5 OK

susato
Site Moderator
Posts: 944
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Team MacOSX
Contact:

Re: Refreshed 6.01beta2 posted

Post by susato » Thu Feb 07, 2008 3:52 am

Works on a G4, 10.3.9 (my machine)
Works on a G5, 10.4 (TomJohnson, viewtopic.php?f=13&t=1117)
Works on a G4, 10.2.8, with developer tools loaded as part of the system. (Plutronics, via PM)
Does NOT work on a G4, 10.2.8, without developer tools - Results in the following error:

Code: Select all

[QS:/Volumes/aQuicki/QS1] pluto% ./fah6 -local -forceasm -verbosity 9
dyld: ./fah6 can't open library: /usr/lib/libmx.A.dylib  (No such file or directory, errno = 2)
Trace/BPT trap

Pluts googled around and found clues to a possible fix by searching apple developers mailing list. These links seem to be the pertinent ones:
http://lists.apple.com/archives/xcode-u ... 00729.html
http://lists.apple.com/archives/xcode-u ... 00762.html
http://lists.apple.com/archives/xcode-u ... 00206.html
http://lists.apple.com/archives/printin ... 00000.html
This is as far as he's gotten to date.

Anyone else have results from a PPC on the new client to add here?

jackrabbit
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 8:44 am
Location: Team MacOSX
Contact:

Re: Refreshed 6.01beta2 posted

Post by jackrabbit » Thu Feb 07, 2008 8:03 am

Works on a G5, 10.5.1 (mine)
The biggest difference between time and space is that you can't reuse time.

Beberg
Pande Group Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 9:05 pm
Location: Stanford

Re: Refreshed 6.01beta2 posted

Post by Beberg » Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:46 pm

OK, looks like it was exactly what I expected. 10.3+, G4+.

susato
Site Moderator
Posts: 944
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Team MacOSX
Contact:

Re: Refreshed 6.01beta2 posted

Post by susato » Fri Feb 08, 2008 4:07 am

Note we haven't tested a G3 yet... are you saying you expected it not to work on the G3, or simply that you were confident it would work on 10.3+, G4+?

Beberg
Pande Group Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 9:05 pm
Location: Stanford

Re: Refreshed 6.01beta2 posted

Post by Beberg » Fri Feb 08, 2008 7:33 pm

G3 is unknown, but should work? Can many people still folding on those and meet the deadlines?

susato
Site Moderator
Posts: 944
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Team MacOSX
Contact:

Re: Refreshed 6.01beta2 posted

Post by susato » Sat Feb 09, 2008 4:05 pm

I'm checking it by asking for a shoutout from G3 users on my team.

susato
Site Moderator
Posts: 944
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Team MacOSX
Contact:

Re: Refreshed 6.01beta2 posted

Post by susato » Fri Feb 15, 2008 7:20 pm

Still no feedback from G3 users - probably any remaining ones are still using the v5 client.

If anyone comes forward with problems later, we'll deal with them individually.

Beberg
Pande Group Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 9:05 pm
Location: Stanford

Re: Refreshed 6.01beta2 posted

Post by Beberg » Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:21 pm

Yea, any G3 users would surprise me.

Locked

Return to “Mac OS X Beta”