Whats with the lack of A2 WUs?

Locked
werty316
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 6:29 pm

Whats with the lack of A2 WUs?

Post by werty316 » Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:53 pm

Any reason why there is a lack of A2 WUs?

7im
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Hardware configuration: Intel i7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Vengence (black/red), EVGA GTX 760 @ 1200 MHz, on an Asus Maximus VI Hero MB (black/red), in a blacked out Antec P280 Tower, with a Xigmatek Night Hawk (black) HSF, Seasonic 760w Platinum (black case, sleeves, wires), 4 SilenX 120mm Case fans with silicon fan gaskets and silicon mounts (all black), a 512GB Samsung SSD (black), and a 2TB Black Western Digital HD (silver/black).
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: Whats with the lack of A2 WUs?

Post by 7im » Fri Feb 12, 2010 11:00 pm

What are you getting instead? A1s and A2s will eventually be phased out in favor of A3s.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.

werty316
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 6:29 pm

Re: Whats with the lack of A2 WUs?

Post by werty316 » Fri Feb 12, 2010 11:14 pm

I have two quadcore Mac Pros crunching and both have received nothing but A1 WUs for what feels like forever.

I'm not a big fan of using the terminal window so I'm hoping there'll be a new version of the installer for OS X 10.4+ and 10.5+ once A1/A2 WUs are phased out.

Ravage7779
Posts: 289
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 10:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Whats with the lack of A2 WUs?

Post by Ravage7779 » Tue Mar 30, 2010 6:27 am

Update your fah software to the latest and greatest, get a passkey, and enter the -advmethods flag. Should net you a3 units to fold.

There are some really good guides, um, elsewhere on OS X specific boards on how to set things up with a minimum of fuss.
Get more Mac OS X folding help from the friendly experts @ http://www.foldingathome.org/index.html
Image

AlanH
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 9:54 pm

Re: Whats with the lack of A2 WUs?

Post by AlanH » Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:12 pm

I posted an installation guide for the latest 6.29r1 client here. Apart from my own installation I only know of one other folder who has used it, and it worked out OK for them.

I'll be interested to hear how you get on with it, as my quad core MacPro gets too many fatal errors when it runs the newest A3 WUs. If they work OK for you then it may be my hardware that's faulty.
Folding for TeamCFC
- Mac Pro Dual 2.66GHz Xeon, 4 GBytes running Mac SMP2 client

Locked

Return to “Mac OS X Beta”