Win2k Pro - v5 the only option?

Post here if you have issues with any version of the 5.0x client for Windows

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Locked
Rickajho
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:36 am

Win2k Pro - v5 the only option?

Post by Rickajho » Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:56 am

I want to fold on a W2k Pro SP4 machine that's available. Couple questions please:

Is v5.x really the last release that will work? There are so many commonalities between w2k and XP... I've found in the past a lot of 32 bit XP software that isn't officially given a w2k "blessing" installs and runs.

Is it correct that v 5.x does not support Passkey?

Thanks!

P5-133XL
Posts: 4034
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Hardware configuration: Machine #1:

Intel Q9450; 2x2GB=8GB Ram; Gigabyte GA-X48-DS4 Motherboard; PC Power and Cooling Q750 PS; 2x GTX 460; Windows Server 2008 X64 (SP1).

Machine #2:

Intel Q6600; 2x2GB=4GB Ram; Gigabyte GA-X48-DS4 Motherboard; PC Power and Cooling Q750 PS; 2x GTX 460 video card; Windows 7 X64.

Machine 3:

Dell Dimension 8400, 3.2GHz P4 4x512GB Ram, Video card GTX 460, Windows 7 X32

I am currently folding just on the 5x GTX 460's for aprox. 70K PPD
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: Win2k Pro - v5 the only option?

Post by P5-133XL » Thu Aug 01, 2013 5:23 am

To my knowledge there isn't a v5 limitation to W2k Pro. Can't you install .net (a requirement for v7) on that Windows OS?
Image

Rickajho
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:36 am

Re: Win2k Pro - v5 the only option?

Post by Rickajho » Thu Aug 01, 2013 9:42 am

Hi - thanks for the response.

w2k pro supports up to .net v2.0 - think that would do it?

I'm here because anything on the download or docs pages dropped mention of w2k with release 5.x After that v 6 and forward only list XP/Vista and up as supported Win OS's.

P5-133XL
Posts: 4034
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Hardware configuration: Machine #1:

Intel Q9450; 2x2GB=8GB Ram; Gigabyte GA-X48-DS4 Motherboard; PC Power and Cooling Q750 PS; 2x GTX 460; Windows Server 2008 X64 (SP1).

Machine #2:

Intel Q6600; 2x2GB=4GB Ram; Gigabyte GA-X48-DS4 Motherboard; PC Power and Cooling Q750 PS; 2x GTX 460 video card; Windows 7 X64.

Machine 3:

Dell Dimension 8400, 3.2GHz P4 4x512GB Ram, Video card GTX 460, Windows 7 X32

I am currently folding just on the 5x GTX 460's for aprox. 70K PPD
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: Win2k Pro - v5 the only option?

Post by P5-133XL » Thu Aug 01, 2013 10:00 am

The V7 install guide requirements do not specifically mention W2k but rather just says Windows XP or newer of which W2k overlaps with XP. .net 2.0 is also a requirement but no further. You may have some issues with GPU folding mainly because of driver issues (W2k has specialized drivers just for it) though and Core_17 is very unlikely to work because of the lack of OpenCL support in W2k drivers. I do not know what browsers are supported in W2k so that may be an issue with the Web Control but that is an optional component to the folding client. I'd say try it and if GPU folding is the main problem you can shut down just the GPU slots.
Image

Napoleon
Posts: 1032
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 2:31 pm
Hardware configuration: Atom330 (overclocked):
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Intel Atom330 dualcore (4 HyperThreads)
NVidia GT430, core_15 work
2x2GB Kingston KVR1333D3N9K2/4G 1333MHz memory kit
Asus AT3IONT-I Deluxe motherboard
Location: Finland

Re: Win2k Pro - v5 the only option?

Post by Napoleon » Thu Aug 01, 2013 10:08 am

Welcome to the forum, Rickajho.

Any particular reason not to install Linux on it? W2k Pro is getting a bit long in the tooth, see http://support.microsoft.com/gp/lifean35. Quoting the relevant part:
On July 13, 2010, Extended Support for Windows 2000 Professional will end. The product will no longer be publicly supported after this date.

64bit Linux client v7 supports Fermi and newer NVidia GPUs natively (core_17). With a 32bit Linux, the Work Units you'd get to crunch would be more restricted, but you could run a 32bit Windows NVidia GPU client v6.41 and core_15 WUs through WINE. While that isn't officially supported, IMHO setting it up isn't overly complicated.

Up to a GTX 460 level NVidia GPU, your points production would actually be better with the older core_15 work than with core_17. Even a slow CPU and a motherboard with a PCIE v1.x slot would be capable of keeping a moderately powerful GPU fully occupied, and some people have even extended the serviceable life of legacy PCI non-e mobos and CPUs by folding on a PCI GT430 GPU. With an overclock to ~900MHz, they've reported as much as 6000 Points Per Day.

Most likely you'd get many times the PPD compared to folding on the CPU. In fact, aforementioned people rarely bother to fold with the CPU, they just use it to feed the GPU. There still are legacy (uni)core_78 WUs around, but without the Quick Return Bonus points, those aren't particularly attractive to most donors due to the poor PPD/Watt ratio.
Win7 64bit, FAH v7, OC'd
2C/4T Atom330 3x667MHz - GT430 2x832.5MHz - ION iGPU 3x466.7MHz
NaCl - Core_15 - display

7im
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Hardware configuration: Intel i7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Vengence (black/red), EVGA GTX 760 @ 1200 MHz, on an Asus Maximus VI Hero MB (black/red), in a blacked out Antec P280 Tower, with a Xigmatek Night Hawk (black) HSF, Seasonic 760w Platinum (black case, sleeves, wires), 4 SilenX 120mm Case fans with silicon fan gaskets and silicon mounts (all black), a 512GB Samsung SSD (black), and a 2TB Black Western Digital HD (silver/black).
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: Win2k Pro - v5 the only option?

Post by 7im » Thu Aug 01, 2013 12:56 pm

Recommending Linux is not a good option. I'm sure w2k would have been upgraded already if there was an option to upgrade.

To answer the original question and not go off topic, yes, v5 is the newest fah version supported on Win 2K. And it still works. Install one instance for each processor core on the pc.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.

COOLDUDEGAMER
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:01 pm
Hardware configuration: (GPU2 Folder) -
System 1 - AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (AM2), OCZ Vanquisher CPU Cooler, 2 GB DDR2 800, Foxconn A690VM2MA-RS2H, XFX NVIDIA GeForce GTS250 512 MB, 750 Watt PC Power & Cooling, Cooler Master 330, Maxtor 500 GB SATA II hard drive, Philips DVD Burner, NEC floppy drive
Location: Dracut, MA, USA ; Kingston, NH, USA

Re: Win2k Pro - v5 the only option?

Post by COOLDUDEGAMER » Sat Sep 14, 2013 5:05 pm

I am guessing that w/ the V5 since it cannot do Passkeys that it would only get the base credit. Would that be correct?
Why am I always tired?!

My avatar is Lelouch from Code Geass. Does anyone know where Suzaku is? I want to use my Geass on him for fun! :P

Image

bruce
Posts: 22470
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Win2k Pro - v5 the only option?

Post by bruce » Sat Sep 14, 2013 5:22 pm

Correct, but when running single-core projects, you will get a mixture of projects, some using FahCore_78 (which doesn't do bonuses), FahCore_a4 (which conceivably could), and temporary periods of no assignment at all. The core_78 projects still get the same PPD that they did when Win2K was popular, so you're only concern is the inflation that has been going on with the points.

COOLDUDEGAMER
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:01 pm
Hardware configuration: (GPU2 Folder) -
System 1 - AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (AM2), OCZ Vanquisher CPU Cooler, 2 GB DDR2 800, Foxconn A690VM2MA-RS2H, XFX NVIDIA GeForce GTS250 512 MB, 750 Watt PC Power & Cooling, Cooler Master 330, Maxtor 500 GB SATA II hard drive, Philips DVD Burner, NEC floppy drive
Location: Dracut, MA, USA ; Kingston, NH, USA

Re: Win2k Pro - v5 the only option?

Post by COOLDUDEGAMER » Sat Sep 14, 2013 5:30 pm

lol Makes me wanna try it out on my old Win2K systems as they can be used for space heaters as they produce so much heat. :P
Why am I always tired?!

My avatar is Lelouch from Code Geass. Does anyone know where Suzaku is? I want to use my Geass on him for fun! :P

Image

7im
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Hardware configuration: Intel i7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Vengence (black/red), EVGA GTX 760 @ 1200 MHz, on an Asus Maximus VI Hero MB (black/red), in a blacked out Antec P280 Tower, with a Xigmatek Night Hawk (black) HSF, Seasonic 760w Platinum (black case, sleeves, wires), 4 SilenX 120mm Case fans with silicon fan gaskets and silicon mounts (all black), a 512GB Samsung SSD (black), and a 2TB Black Western Digital HD (silver/black).
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: Win2k Pro - v5 the only option?

Post by 7im » Sat Sep 14, 2013 8:30 pm

Don't bother wasting any more of your time. All the servers with those work units are still offline after the server maintenance two weeks ago.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.

dougwill
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:23 am

Re: Win2k Pro - v5 the only option?

Post by dougwill » Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:36 am

So V5 is no longer available for download for my Win2K machine, or the servers for V5 are no longer sending work units, or both? Can't find a link to "older clients" mentioned in an older post, and the current download page shows v6 as the only earlier version. Like CoolDudeGamer above, my old Win2K machine helps heat my home office in the winter... and I'd like to know if it can't fold anymore before going back to SETI or another distributed client...

7im
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Hardware configuration: Intel i7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Vengence (black/red), EVGA GTX 760 @ 1200 MHz, on an Asus Maximus VI Hero MB (black/red), in a blacked out Antec P280 Tower, with a Xigmatek Night Hawk (black) HSF, Seasonic 760w Platinum (black case, sleeves, wires), 4 SilenX 120mm Case fans with silicon fan gaskets and silicon mounts (all black), a 512GB Samsung SSD (black), and a 2TB Black Western Digital HD (silver/black).
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: Win2k Pro - v5 the only option?

Post by 7im » Fri Jan 24, 2014 6:25 am

Servers won't send out work to v5 client so don't bother looking for the download. Grab a win XP license from eBay for next to nothing. Or run Linux which is free. Then run fah again.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.

Locked

Return to “Windows Uniprocessor Client v5.0x”