No load limit

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though NVidia has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Post Reply
foldy
Posts: 1484
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:43 pm
Hardware configuration: Folding@Home Client 7.5.1 (1 GPU slots)
Windows 7 64bit
Intel Core i5 2500k@4Ghz
Nvidia gtx 1080ti driver 419

No load limit

Post by foldy » Sun Nov 12, 2017 9:42 pm

My gtx 1080 Ti currently gets only 725k PPD instead of 1000k PPD with work unit 9431.
I found the reason seems to be that GPU boost clock is limited to 1500Mhz instead of full 1950Mhz which makes it 30% slower.
The MSI Afterburner shows "No load limit" that means the GPU load is below a threshold where is no boosting.
https://imgur.com/a/4GfL6

What is different with the 9431 work unit that no boosting anymore? Or is it a nvidia driver issue?

Are there any tweaks to make it boost again?

Edit: I found the nvidia driver setting "Power management mode" where I changed to "Maximum".
But need to wait for another 9431 work unit to check.

toTOW
Site Moderator
Posts: 8717
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Re: No load limit

Post by toTOW » Mon Nov 13, 2017 12:26 am

Strange ... I never noticed such a clock cap, my GPUs are always running at maximum clock on these WUs like on any other WUs ...
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image

foldy
Posts: 1484
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:43 pm
Hardware configuration: Folding@Home Client 7.5.1 (1 GPU slots)
Windows 7 64bit
Intel Core i5 2500k@4Ghz
Nvidia gtx 1080ti driver 419

Re: No load limit

Post by foldy » Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:52 pm

I got another 9431 work unit and the issue did not happen again and was not influenced by nvidia "Power management mode". Maybe something else on my PC disturbed nvidia boost. Still will keep the "Power management mode" = Maximum to be sure.

bruce
Posts: 22470
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: No load limit

Post by bruce » Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:53 pm

Certain types of GPU "hardware errors" reduce some of the built-in GPU limitations. (In Windows, they can be found in the Event Viewer. I don't remember where to find them in Linux.) If a reboot resets NV's limits, then you probably had one of those errors.

Kuno
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 4:59 pm

Re: No load limit

Post by Kuno » Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:59 am

Yes max sure it is set to max, make sure your PCI express is actually at 16x and version 3 (if your board supports it, and also make sure you are running the correct driver, 378.92.

Post Reply

Return to “Problems with NVidia drivers”