Defaults

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Post Reply
Ricorocks
Posts: 394
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:49 pm
Location: Georgetown, Texas

Defaults

Post by Ricorocks » Tue Feb 12, 2019 6:09 pm

Well at least a newbie question.

Is the 'default' upon install, screen saver mode, & 1/2 throttle? Makes sense it would be IMO

Joe_H
Site Admin
Posts: 4482
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Hardware configuration: iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8
Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Power Mac G4 dual 1.73 1.5 GB (retired)
Location: W. MA

Re: Defaults

Post by Joe_H » Tue Feb 12, 2019 6:42 pm

It depends on whether the client is being installed on a desktop or what it detects as being a laptop.

I haven't checked the install defaults of the current client, so they may have changed slightly. But as I recall, the default for desktop computers is the setting of Medium which leaves one CPU thread unused, and GPU folding on. For laptops the default setting is Light, uses half the available CPU threads, and GPU folding is on Idle. In addition, the Light setting forces folding to be Paused when on battery power even when the client is set to fold on battery.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3

Ricorocks
Posts: 394
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:49 pm
Location: Georgetown, Texas

Re: Defaults

Post by Ricorocks » Tue Feb 12, 2019 10:09 pm

thanks joe

Post Reply

Return to “New Donors start here”