Need Help Configuring 2x 2080Tis

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

foldy
Posts: 1484
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:43 pm
Hardware configuration: Folding@Home Client 7.5.1 (1 GPU slots)
Windows 7 64bit
Intel Core i5 2500k@4Ghz
Nvidia gtx 1080ti driver 419

Re: Need Help Configuring 2x 2080Tis

Post by foldy » Mon Jun 24, 2019 6:08 pm

Try to pause CPU slot and see if GPUs get more PPD. If true then you need to reduce CPU slots CPUs count.

MeeLee
Posts: 262
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:16 pm

Re: Need Help Configuring 2x 2080Tis

Post by MeeLee » Mon Jun 24, 2019 11:14 pm

It's also preferred to run Linux for folding.
My RTX 2080 Ti gets 2-2.2M PPD on PCIE 3.0 8x, but only 1.8M PPD at PCIE 3.0 1x (or PCIE 2.0 4x, same thing, from what I read).
If you're running windows, it's normal to see a few percent lower (1,6-1,8M PPD).

Try to run everything at PCIE 3.0 speeds.
Or, if you're running at PCIE 2.0 speeds, try getting at least an 8x speed slot.

Sac87
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2019 5:19 pm

Re: Need Help Configuring 2x 2080Tis

Post by Sac87 » Tue Jun 25, 2019 2:48 am

foldy wrote:Try to pause CPU slot and see if GPUs get more PPD. If true then you need to reduce CPU slots CPUs count.
I've currently got it set up for 2 slots, 1x 16 and 1x 12 leaving 2x untouched but I will pause and see if it makes any difference! Do I need to do anything specific to "park" a CPU core? Other than leave it out of the FAH config?
MeeLee wrote:It's also preferred to run Linux for folding.
My RTX 2080 Ti gets 2-2.2M PPD on PCIE 3.0 8x, but only 1.8M PPD at PCIE 3.0 1x (or PCIE 2.0 4x, same thing, from what I read).
If you're running windows, it's normal to see a few percent lower (1,6-1,8M PPD).

Try to run everything at PCIE 3.0 speeds.
Or, if you're running at PCIE 2.0 speeds, try getting at least an 8x speed slot.
Everything is at PCIE 3.0 speeds but I haven't tried the Linux route yet.

MeeLee
Posts: 262
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:16 pm

Re: Need Help Configuring 2x 2080Tis

Post by MeeLee » Tue Jun 25, 2019 8:42 pm

Sac87 wrote: I've currently got it set up for 2 slots, 1x 16 and 1x 12 leaving 2x untouched but I will pause and see if it makes any difference! Do I need to do anything specific to "park" a CPU core? Other than leave it out of the FAH config?
Just don't assign a slot for the CPU.
If your CPU is running in hyper threading mode, there is a chance it might limit the speed of the most powerful GPUs (like the 2080 Tis), so I'd try to turn off HT in the bios, and see if PPD is any higher.

If not, and you want to maximize PPD count, you could assign a cpu slot taking a limited amount of threads.
The formula for windows is CPU thread count (eg 8) minus GPU count (eg: 2) minus Windows OS thread (1)
For multi core CPU counts beyond 6 cores, I'd assign an extra CPU core. I've noted that the folding happens a little better that way.

For Linux, it's a lot easier.
CPU - GPU count.
Eg: 8 CPU threads, 2 GPUs, that gives you access to a full 6 threads in Linux.

However, do know that folding on CPU is less efficient.

Sac87
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2019 5:19 pm

Re: Need Help Configuring 2x 2080Tis

Post by Sac87 » Wed Jun 26, 2019 2:16 am

MeeLee wrote:
Sac87 wrote: I've currently got it set up for 2 slots, 1x 16 and 1x 12 leaving 2x untouched but I will pause and see if it makes any difference! Do I need to do anything specific to "park" a CPU core? Other than leave it out of the FAH config?
Just don't assign a slot for the CPU.
If your CPU is running in hyper threading mode, there is a chance it might limit the speed of the most powerful GPUs (like the 2080 Tis), so I'd try to turn off HT in the bios, and see if PPD is any higher.

If not, and you want to maximize PPD count, you could assign a cpu slot taking a limited amount of threads.
The formula for windows is CPU thread count (eg 8) minus GPU count (eg: 2) minus Windows OS thread (1)
For multi core CPU counts beyond 6 cores, I'd assign an extra CPU core. I've noted that the folding happens a little better that way.

For Linux, it's a lot easier.
CPU - GPU count.
Eg: 8 CPU threads, 2 GPUs, that gives you access to a full 6 threads in Linux.

However, do know that folding on CPU is less efficient.
Interesting idea... I'll disable Hyperthreading and see if anything changes!
I am definitely interested in maximizing my PPD so I will probably try and table math your formula out. I have 32 cores total.

I woke up this morning and one GPU was almost at 1.9 Mil so we're making some progress!

Sac87
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2019 5:19 pm

Re: Need Help Configuring 2x 2080Tis

Post by Sac87 » Wed Jun 26, 2019 4:20 pm

I did not see any difference by turning off Thread Optimization or not folding with the CPUs. 1.5 Mil and 1.4 Mil when I woke up this morning.

JimboPalmer
Posts: 857
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:12 am
Hardware configuration: Several dozen Core2duos and i3s at a Mental Health organization. About six i5 at home, including a GTX 1050ti GPU that does half the total points.
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: Need Help Configuring 2x 2080Tis

Post by JimboPalmer » Wed Jun 26, 2019 4:23 pm

Sac87 wrote:I did not see any difference by turning off Thread Optimization or not folding with the CPUs. 1.5 Mil and 1.4 Mil when I woke up this morning.
That indicates your CPUs are fast enough to feed your GPUs, as configured by F@H. Might as well let them fold.
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends

Nathan_P
Posts: 1441
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 9:22 pm
Hardware configuration: Asus Z8NA D6C, 2 x5670@3.2 Ghz, , 12gb Ram, GTX 980ti, AX650 PSU, win 10 (daily use)

Asus Z87 WS, Xeon E3-1230L v3, 8gb ram, KFA GTX 1080, EVGA 750ti , AX760 PSU, Mint 18.2 OS

Not currently folding
Asus Z9PE- D8 WS, 2 E5-2665@2.3 Ghz, 16Gb 1.35v Ram, Ubuntu (Fold only)
Asus Z9PA, 2 Ivy 12 core, 16gb Ram, H folding appliance (fold only)
Location: Jersey, Channel islands

Re: Need Help Configuring 2x 2080Tis

Post by Nathan_P » Thu Jun 27, 2019 6:29 pm

You'll only see the fastest times and highest points under linux, that will add roughly 10% to PPD
Image

Sac87
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2019 5:19 pm

Re: Need Help Configuring 2x 2080Tis

Post by Sac87 » Fri Jun 28, 2019 4:05 pm

I may have to learn how to do Linux then. Can I do it under VM software?

Also, does it hurt having the cards SLI enabled? Or does it not change anything?

Nathan_P
Posts: 1441
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 9:22 pm
Hardware configuration: Asus Z8NA D6C, 2 x5670@3.2 Ghz, , 12gb Ram, GTX 980ti, AX650 PSU, win 10 (daily use)

Asus Z87 WS, Xeon E3-1230L v3, 8gb ram, KFA GTX 1080, EVGA 750ti , AX760 PSU, Mint 18.2 OS

Not currently folding
Asus Z9PE- D8 WS, 2 E5-2665@2.3 Ghz, 16Gb 1.35v Ram, Ubuntu (Fold only)
Asus Z9PA, 2 Ivy 12 core, 16gb Ram, H folding appliance (fold only)
Location: Jersey, Channel islands

Re: Need Help Configuring 2x 2080Tis

Post by Nathan_P » Fri Jun 28, 2019 4:32 pm

SLI makes no difference. Not sure about running the gpu's under VM software, you would need to be able to pass through the drivers and i'm not sure you can do that with regular geforce cards.
Image

bruce
Posts: 22470
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Need Help Configuring 2x 2080Tis

Post by bruce » Fri Jun 28, 2019 5:22 pm

I have seen reports of GPU drivers not working when running under some VM software. The guest operating system doesn't receive a dedicated device but rather a simulated GPU driver. I might depend on which VM software you happen to use.

I recommend you install the appropriate drivers in whatever native OS is being booted and that you run FAH in that OS.

If you discover what does/does_not work, please report back.

Theodore
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2019 2:07 pm

Re: Need Help Configuring 2x 2080Tis

Post by Theodore » Fri Jun 28, 2019 11:02 pm

Aside from dual booting, there's always an option to install a cheap 32-64 GB SSD in your system, and boot from UEFI with F11, to your stock OS disk, or the Linux disk.

Sac87
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2019 5:19 pm

Re: Need Help Configuring 2x 2080Tis

Post by Sac87 » Sat Jun 29, 2019 7:04 am

After several hours of manually overclocking, I have managed to break 2Mil on each card. I had a feeling the auto overclock was leaving a lot on the table. Turns out it was!

Mission Accomplished! Thanks so much to everyone who helped tweak my system. Happy camper!

MeeLee
Posts: 262
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:16 pm

Re: Need Help Configuring 2x 2080Tis

Post by MeeLee » Sun Jun 30, 2019 12:19 pm

Yes, 2 mil is with an overclock. Especially if you limit the power by almost 100 Watts.

kiore
Posts: 991
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:45 pm
Location: USA

Re: Need Help Configuring 2x 2080Tis

Post by kiore » Tue Jul 02, 2019 3:35 pm

Sac87 wrote:After several hours of manually overclocking, I have managed to break 2Mil on each card. I had a feeling the auto overclock was leaving a lot on the table. Turns out it was!

Mission Accomplished! Thanks so much to everyone who helped tweak my system. Happy camper!
Expect to see large variations between projects, on my RTX 2080ti I see a range of 1.6 to 2.2 MPPD. A sudden drop off may just be a change in project type/ size etc rather than a system issue.
Image

i7 7800x GTX 1080ti , OS= win7. AMD 3700x RTX 2080ti OS= win10

Post Reply

Return to “New Donors start here”