Don’t Allow Non-functional GPU slots on OS X

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Locked
stephen123
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 5:00 pm

Don’t Allow Non-functional GPU slots on OS X

Post by stephen123 » Tue Mar 11, 2014 7:19 pm

Since GPUs are not supported on OS X, I don’t understand why you can’t remove the option of creating GPU slots on OS X. This problem has existed for a long time and it creates a feeling of alienation.

billford
Posts: 1006
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 8:46 pm
Hardware configuration: Full Time:

2x NVidia GTX 980
1x NVidia GTX 780 Ti
2x 3GHz Core i5 PC (Linux)

Retired:

3.2GHz Core i5 PC (Linux)
3.2GHz Core i5 iMac
2.8GHz Core i5 iMac
2.16GHz Core 2 Duo iMac
2GHz Core 2 Duo MacBook
1.6GHz Core 2 Duo Acer laptop
Location: Near Oxford, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Don’t Allow Non-functional GPU slots on OS X

Post by billford » Tue Mar 11, 2014 7:25 pm

stephen123 wrote:... it creates a feeling of alienation.
I've always looked on it as a hint (to Apple) that if they ever get their gpu drivers sorted out, people might be able to fold on them… not that Apple are noted for taking hints :(

(I could be wrong, of course)
Image

ChristianVirtual
Posts: 1540
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:14 pm
Location: 日本 東京

Re: Don’t Allow Non-functional GPU slots on OS X

Post by ChristianVirtual » Tue Mar 11, 2014 7:29 pm

Even more if you read this from the news section:
https://folding.stanford.edu/home/progr ... mm-on-osx/

There is hope ! :D
Just no ETA. :(
ImageImage
Please contribute your logs to http://ppd.fahmm.net

billford
Posts: 1006
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 8:46 pm
Hardware configuration: Full Time:

2x NVidia GTX 980
1x NVidia GTX 780 Ti
2x 3GHz Core i5 PC (Linux)

Retired:

3.2GHz Core i5 PC (Linux)
3.2GHz Core i5 iMac
2.8GHz Core i5 iMac
2.16GHz Core 2 Duo iMac
2GHz Core 2 Duo MacBook
1.6GHz Core 2 Duo Acer laptop
Location: Near Oxford, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Don’t Allow Non-functional GPU slots on OS X

Post by billford » Tue Mar 11, 2014 7:34 pm

ChristianVirtual wrote: There is hope ! :D
Just no ETA. :(
That sounds like Apple :D
Image

7im
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Hardware configuration: Intel i7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Vengence (black/red), EVGA GTX 760 @ 1200 MHz, on an Asus Maximus VI Hero MB (black/red), in a blacked out Antec P280 Tower, with a Xigmatek Night Hawk (black) HSF, Seasonic 760w Platinum (black case, sleeves, wires), 4 SilenX 120mm Case fans with silicon fan gaskets and silicon mounts (all black), a 512GB Samsung SSD (black), and a 2TB Black Western Digital HD (silver/black).
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: Don’t Allow Non-functional GPU slots on OS X

Post by 7im » Tue Mar 11, 2014 8:15 pm

stephen123 wrote:Since GPUs are not supported on OS X, I don’t understand why you can’t remove the option of creating GPU slots on OS X. This problem has existed for a long time and it creates a feeling of alienation.
Does the client installer offer that GPU option, or somewhere else?
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.

bruce
Posts: 22470
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Don’t Allow Non-functional GPU slots on OS X

Post by bruce » Tue Mar 11, 2014 9:54 pm

Suppose one day soon Apple provides the necessary support. Would you be content to then wait while FAH prepares a new client version which you would then have to install it just to remove the "It's disabled on purpose" function feature? The client is ready whenever Apple gets their act together.

eepmatt2
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:59 pm

Why does 7.4.4 OS X client let me set up a GPU slot?

Post by eepmatt2 » Sun Mar 23, 2014 6:42 pm

I assume I would have heard something if GPU folding got working on OS X....

Joe_H
Site Admin
Posts: 4482
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Hardware configuration: iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8
Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Power Mac G4 dual 1.73 1.5 GB (retired)
Location: W. MA

Re: Why does 7.4.4 OS X client let me set up a GPU slot?

Post by Joe_H » Sun Mar 23, 2014 6:58 pm

Because the client software was written to be the same across all platforms and the intent was to bring GPU folding to all three, Windows, OS X and Linux. However the OS X OpenCL support was not quite good enough. If you read the blog, there is an announcement that PG is working with Apple to get to the point where GPU folding is possible - https://folding.stanford.edu/home/progr ... mm-on-osx/. In the meantime the installation instructions and requirements clearly say GPU folding on OS X is not currently possible.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3

Locked

Return to “V7.4.x Public Beta Windows/Linux/MacOS X”